Photo Diary: Foodie Edition

I’ve been cooking up a storm since school ended. Here’s a peek:

Pasta with homemade spinach and avocado sauce. // This sauce is delicious. And vegan!

006

Avocado and cheese quesadilla. // You know, I’m still not sure about my feelings regarding warm avocado. I hate the texture but avocado gives melts and quesadillas so much depth of flavor! And I still think it tastes weird even if you slip it in towards the end…it’s a struggle. This quesadilla was a winner though. Maybe the trick is to mash the avocado instead of slicing.

156

A huge variety of noodle soups. // They are the best thing to eat all the time. So easy. Literally just boil water, add curry paste, add veggies, boil noodles in the soup, stir in leafy greens…VOILA, MEAL.

015

Freshly baked bread. // This is like my #1 accomplishment of the summer so far. I don’t know if I talked about it before. But seriously. I baked a loaf of bread from scratch and it tasted AMAZING.

014

Enchiladas. // That’s right, I was craving enchiladas and so I decided to make enchiladas + enchilada sauce last week. Enchiladas. You can see that I truly take control of my life. These were a tad too spicy. For the filling, I used 1/2 a can of low sodium black beans, some frozen corn, 1/4 red onion, one normal onion (yellow onion?), several green onions, and some minced chilies. In the future, I’ll probs omit the chilies. The sauce was authentic and tasted excellent! Bonus: no tomatoes!

012 (2)

Pesto tortellini with french-cut green beans. // Most delicious tortellini I have tasted. Trader Joe’s, people. Go get ’em.

037

Pancit. // I’ve been wanting some pancit for a while now so I finally made some the day before yesterday. It was actually pretty darn good. I think the trick that I’ve been missing until now was the whole “soak the rice noodles in cold water” step. No matter. I am wiser now.

046

Cheese-on-toast. // Typical Melz, typical snack.

048

Waffles. // Best. Breakfast. Ever.

053

That’s most of what I’ve been munching on! I liked doing this post. There will be more. If you want further details on anything mentioned, ask in the comments!

Always,
Melanie

Leave a Reply

