The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Camping was great. I hiked for miles and miles and miles. I also got some reading in when everyone else was napping! 

I read about 100 pages of The Raven Boys under a canopy of trees while birds chirped all around. It was quite the picturesque moment. The thing is, the book just wasn’t good. It wasn’t interesting. I had no idea what was going on because there was zero explanatory statements. I was sooo confused. The only reason I even got to page 100 was because I liked the characters. 

Thank goodness I got to page 100. 

I got home from camping and was duly exhausted but still helped to clear the lichen to prep for yesterday’s demolition. (Now we have no kitchen. By kitchen.) 

I finished The Raven Boys yesterday in one go. 

IT GETS SOOOOO GOOD. SERIOUSLY. I AM NOT LYING. 

Once you get past the first hundred or so pages of confusion it is truly fantastic. The ease and familial nature of the characters reminded me of the dynamic between the WISH catering crew in The Truth About Forever. I love that kind of atmosphere. 

I am so excited for the next book. ASKBDKAKDNKSKWNCNDLANXN.

I really, really enjoyed this and if you like fantasy I think you will too! Just hold on through the first 100. It gets better. Trust me. 

What did you read over the weekend? 

Always,

Melanie 

Leave a Reply

